Skip to content

Eight of Conestoga's alumni presented with awards of distinction

The award winners are Deanna Clatworthy, Clarice Crocker, Mike Farwell, Martha George, Rohan Nandakumar, Casie Stewart, David Timlock and Steve Zinger
Stock photo

Eight of Conestoga College's alumni have been recognized for their contributions to their professions and their community at the college’s Alumni of Distinction Awards.

The event was held at the John W. Tibbits campus in Waterloo on Wednesday.

"Conestoga alumni make a difference," Mike Cybulski, president of Conestoga Alumni Council, said in a release. 

"They are the people that shape our community and touch our lives every day."

Here are the 2018 winners:

Deanna Clatworthy, Practical Nursing, 2012. Clatworthy is clinic coordinator and nurse at Guelph’s HIV/AIDS Resources and Community Health Clinic, and considered a pioneer in HIV/AIDS and transgender health care.

Clarice Crocker, Women in Skilled Trades, 2006; General Carpenter Apprenticeship, 2011. Crocker is vice-president of operations for the Canadian Association of Women in Construction and currently works as a project coordinator in the Specialty Contracts Division at a general contractor.

Mike Farwell, Broadcast - Radio & Television, 1996. Farwell hosts his own show on 570 News, and serves as the play-by-play voice of the Kitchener Rangers. His Farwell 4 Hire fundraising campaign has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars to support Cystic Fibrosis research.

Martha George, Teacher/Trainer of Adults, 1999. An active community leader, George served as president of the Grand Valley Construction Association (GVCA) and was recognized with the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal in 2012 for her significant contributions to Canada’s construction industry.

Rohan Nandakumar, Bachelor of Applied Technology - Integrated Telecommunications and Computer Technology, 2008. Nandakumar runs WSIB's Innovation Lab at Communitech, developing re-imaging services and solutions to enable a healthy workforce for Ontario. He previously held roles with both BlackBerry and Apple.

Casie Stewart, Business Administration - Marketing, 2003. Stewart is an award-winning social media pioneer and innovator who serves as an ambassador for such global brands as Ford, Pepsi, Telus, TD and BMO. Her work has earned more than 30 million impressions in the last 6 years.

David Timlock, Construction Engineering Technologies, 1980; Civil Engineering Technology, 1984. Timlock is founder and president of Collaborative Structures Limited and possesses more than 30 years of experience in construction and project management.

Steve Zinger, Business Administration - Marketing, 2006. Zinger is president of Blendtek Fine Ingredients Inc. and was named Young Entrepreneur of the Year in 2018 by the Cambridge Chamber of Commerce.

Rogers Sports & Media
230 The Boardwalk Kitchener, ON, N2N 0B1
© 2006-2022 Rogers Sports & Media. All rights reserved.
Be the first to read breaking stories. Allow browser notifications on your device. What are browser notifications?
No thanks